1. Diana owns a catering business and can purchase food at wholesale prices. She is planning a graduation party for a client. She can purchase only whole chickens for $4.98 each. The client has invited 50 people to the party and will serve each guest a quarter of the chicken. What is the total cost for the all of the chickens?
2. Ray is planning a retirement party. He is expecting 120 guests and plans to serve a quarter of a chicken on each plate. He will be purchasing whole chickens for $5.50 each. What is the total cost for the chickens?
3. Chef Mike purchased a prepared cheesecake for $15.00. Using the 12-slice portion marker, what is the standard portion cost?
4. The restaurant manager purchased a prepared apple pie for $12.00. Using the 8-slice portion marker, what is the standard portion cost?
5. A store manager begins each shift with the same amount of money. She keeps $300.00 in a safe and distributes the rest equally between herself and four cashiers in the store.
If the store manager begins the shift with $900.00, how much will each cashier have?
6. You purchase a case of apples for $70.00. There are 100 pounds of apples in a case. What is the edible portion cost per pound of apples given that the yield percentage of an apple is 74%.
7. Lisa is running a hotel that makes 55% profit on every room that is sold at the regular daily rate of $89.00 not including tax. It cost $2,200.00 to run the hotel for one night. How many rooms per night must be occupied to break even?
8. Hotel Sunset has 500 rooms. On Saturday, 397 rooms were rented out. What is the occupancy rate of the hotel?
Formula: occupancy rate = (rooms rented out) ÷ (total number of rooms ) * 100
9. What is the vacancy rate of Hotel Sunset on Saturday?
Formula: vacancy rate = 100 – occupancy rate
10. Hotel Sunset had $39,208.66 in room revenue on Saturday. What is the average daily rate?
Formula: average daily rate = (room revenue) ÷ (rooms rented)
11. Hotel Sunset had $39,208.66 in room revenue on Saturday. What is the revenue per available room (revpar).
12. Multiple occupancy percentage is helpful in determining how many guests may show up for breakfast, how much linen to order or wash, how many employees to handle check outs, and so forth.
Hotel Sunset has 500 rooms. 225 of the 397 rooms that were rented were multiple occupancy. Calculate the multiple occupancy percentage.
Formula: Multiple occupancy percentage = (mulitple occupancy rooms) ÷ (room rented)
13. You have a 500 room hotel with 4 rooms out of order (OOO). Your reservations are 175 and stayovers are 213. Historical data indicates that your no-show rate is 8%. The number of understays are 11 and overstays are 5. Plug this information into your formula and determine how many guest rooms you have available to sell.
Formula: Rooms Available for sale = Total rooms – Out of order rooms – reservations – stayovers + (# of reservations * % of no shows) + # of understays – # of overstays.
14. The dishwasher at a restaurant is loaded with the same number of dishes every time it is used. The table shows the total number of dishes washed as a function of the number of times the dishwasher is used.
Based on the data in the table, what is the total number of dishes that will have been washed when the dishwasher is used 12 times?
15. Jacob runs a Chinese food restaurant that sells eggrolls. The business makes 65% profit on every eggroll it sells. In one day, 740 eggrolls were sold for a total profit of $841.75. What was the selling price of each eggroll?
16. Each time you fill up a drink from the soda fountain, it costs $.27. If you charge $2.29 for a fountain drink and have free refills, what is your percentage profit on a customer that gets two free refills?
17. Cynthia is using her recipe to cook rice at the restaurant. If the recipe originally calls for 1 cup of rice, how many pounds of rice will she need to cook to feed 100 people if her recipe serves four?
18. A restaurant uses 15 pounds of bacon per day. There are 31 days this month.
If bacon is purchased in 15 pound cases at $55.20/2, how much did the restaurant spend on bacon this month?
19. A restaurant uses 1.5 pounds of cheese per day. There are 30 days this month.
If cheese is purchased in 5 pound bags at $99.51/6, how much did the restaurant spend on cheese this month?
20. Nancy works for a travel agency where the group rate discount of 28% can be applied to water park prices when 15 or more people are booking together.
The price the customer would pay would be 100% - 28% which is 72% of the original price. The regular price of the water park is $45.99.
Nancy is booking a family reunion where the total number of family members attending x, is 23.
Use the formula f(x) = x (45.99) (.72) to find the total cost of the water park trip.
21. Chris runs a snow cone stand during the summer. She wants to increase her business by adding nachos. Last summer she sold about 75 snow cones per day. She sold the snow cones, x, for $1.50 each. She plans on selling the nachos, y, for $2 each. If, on her first day, she sells 60 snow cones and 32 nachos, how much did she have in sales?
p(X) = 1.50 *(X) + 2y
22. Chris runs a snow cone stand during the summer. She wants to increase her business by adding nachos. Last summer she sold about 75 snow cones per day. She sold the snow cones, x, for $1.50 each. She plans on selling the nachos, y, for $2 each. If, on her first day, she sells 60 snow cones and 32 nachos, how much more did she make on sales than last year?
23. Analyze the river boat tours profit by month in the chart.
What is the percent of increase from the lowest month to the highest month?
Percent of increase = (highest-lowest) / lowest (100)
24. According to the chart, what is the average profit per month?
Mean = (sum of the elements) / (number of elements)
25. Calculate the linear regression to predict the profit for the 14th month.
26. A recipe calls for 3/4 cup butter, 2 1/2 cups of flour, 1 cup of pecans, and 1 1/2 cups of sugar.
If we double the recipe, how many total cups of mix would you have?
27. Mike is making brownies for 50 people. The original recipe makes 16 brownies. The entire ingredients required costs about $3.50 per batch. Mike will make complete batches. What will his total cost be to have enough brownies for 50 people?
28. Mary is working at a hamburger restaurant whose scale is measuring incorrectly. At the end of the day the scale was checked and measured under weight by 2 ounces. If they make $2.14 profit on every half-pound burger the restaurant sells, which equation could be used to find the amount of money lost based on the number t of burgers sold(X) .
29. John works in a pizza parlor. The manager is able to buy parmesan grated cheese in 5 pound bags. The cheese cost $99.51 per case. Each case has six – 5 pound bags. If John uses 2 ounces of parmesan cheese on each lasagna, what is the cost of the cheese for one lasagna?
Cost per ounce = $99.51/6/5/16
30. Mary is working at a hamburger restaurant whose scale is measuring incorrectly. At the end of the day the scale was checked and was off by 2 ounces. If they make $2.14 profit on every half pound burger it sells, how much money was lost if the restaurant sold 110 hamburgers(x).
(half a pound is 8 ounces)
31. Debbie is working in a restaurant that sells bacon burgers. The manager is able to buy bacon in bulk for a discounted rate. She can buy a 15 pound case for $27.60. There are 16 slices in each pound of bacon and 2 slices of bacon are used in each bacon burger. What is the bacon cost for the bacon burger?
Cost per slice = 27.60/15/16
32. Jeremy is working in a hamburger restaurant. Each table has a 20 oz. bottle of ketchup. If the manager purchases 30 bottles of ketchup for $38.04, how much does it cost to have ketchup on each table(x) if there are 28 tables in the restaurant?
33. The Small Business Initiative is trying to increase the number of restaurants in a certain area of town. The organization is willing to pay 30% of your rent if you agree to be in business in the area for at least five years. If your rent is $1,500.00 per month, use the equation below to find the amount of money you will save (S) during the five years in rent (r).
S = .30 * (r) (12) (5)
34. Alan is going to expand his restaurant business. He is opening a second restaurant and predicts that is will do 25% better than his original restaurant during the first year. Use the equation below to find the profit (P) per month of the new location if the old restaurant averages $40,000.00 (x) per month.
P = (1+.25) * (X)
35. Alan is going to expand his restaurant business. He is opening a second restaurant and predicts that is will do 25% better than his original restaurant during the first year. Use the equation below to find the profit (P) for the FIRST year of the new location if the old restaurant averages $40,000.00 (x) per month.
P = (1+.25) * (X) * (12)
36. The most profitable place to start a business will have the largest average profit.
Which region has the largest average profit?
37. The franchise company offers prizes for the three regions with the most profits. Which region had the most profits for breakfast, lunch and dinner?
38. The Culinary Arts Practicum class is hosting a German Luncheon and you are anticipating 150 guests. The Chef Instructor has provided you with the following recipe for Sauerbraten that yields 25 portions.
Convert this recipe to serve the anticipated 150 guests. Multiply all ingredients by (r). What formula would you use to do this?
39. Several students have a really great business plan and decide to start a graphic t-shirt company. After initial expenses of $320.00, the students will purchase each t-shirt for $3.00. They will then sell each shirt for $12.00 How many must they sell to break even? Round your answer to the nearest whole number.
40. The Sanchez family went out to dinner to celebrate grandpa Sanchez’s birthday. Their bill was $108.24. How much tip should they leave their waiter if they tip 15%?
Tip = Amount of bill * percent
41. The senior class is planning a trip to a local theme park. The cost per student will be $31.38 (including sales tax). The meal ticket is $12.44 per person. If 230 seniors will be attending and wish to purchase the meal deal, use the formula to calculate the total cost of the theme park admission.
f(x) = (31.38 + 12.44) * (X)
42. Kristine is working in a restaurant as a waitress. The wait staff must share their tips with the busboy. If Kristine earned $145.00 in tips on Saturday and gives 2% of her tips to the busboy, how much did she take home in tips?
43. A fast food restaurant averages about $7.23 of daily transactions of 3,219. A coffee house averages about $8.63 per 8,700 transactions. How much more does the coffee house make per day than the restaurant?
Daily Revenue = Average Purchase * Number of daily transactions
44. During the summer months, the Island Hotel increased its staff by 20%.
The hotel currently has 22 kitchen employees and 40 wait staff members. How many kitchen employees and wait staff members will be hired?
new employees = # number currently employed * .20
45. The annual salaries of the employees working at The Island Resort are listed.
What is the average salary and range for these salaries?
46. Jason is closing the register at the end of the day. He is in charge of counting all the change. There are 129 coins counting only quarters and dimes. If Jason counts $27 in these coins, how many quarters(x) and dimes(y) are there?
Solve the system of equations to find the answer.
x + y = 129
25x + .10y = $27
47. Sally is the concierge at a hotel. She is booking a water park trip for the Sanchez family that includes 2 adults, 2 seniors and 3 children ages 11, 13 and 15. With the hotel discount the ticket prices are:
* general admission (x) (12 - 54 years) $36.79
* child/senior admission (y) (3 - 11 & 55+ years) $28.79
How much will Sally charge the Sanchez family?
Use the equation to calculate your total cost: C = 36.79x + 28.79y
48. Hannah works at the gift shop in a local hotel. She makes popcorn to sell in the gift shop. The large popcorn cost $4 and the small popcorn cost $2. Hannah sold 80 popcorns in all and collected $236.
Use the equation below to find out how many large (x) and small (y) bags of popcorn she sold.
x + y = 80
4x + 2y = 236
49. Rose is planning to go on a cruise. The price per person in June is $389.00 and the price in October is $239.00. Why are the prices cheaper in October?
50. Analyze the sweets chart. Which statement would be correct?